Are You A “Self-Aware” Leader?

“What you can’t see, you won’t change!  What you won’t change will become a habit!  Your habits will become a lifestyle!”

Ever seen a situation like this:  A Children’s Ministry Leader is convinced they have it going on and that their entire team respects them.  However, when you listen to their team and watch how they interact with them, it is obvious that their team has no respect for them.  The Children’s Ministry Leader is convinced things couldn’t be better.  The team is convinced things couldn’t be worse.

Leadership is hard.  If it were easy, everyone would be a stunning leader.  If God has called you to lead others, there is one thing you must be aware of…YOU!  This is called being “self-aware.”

Self-awareness (noun) – conscious knowledge of one’s own character, feelings, motives, and desires.

As a leader, if you are not aware of what you are doing and how others are receiving it, you can’t learn self-awareness.  Try asking yourself a few key questions:

1.  What habits or tendencies do I fight consistently?
2.  How do people perceive me?
3.  Am I currently growing?
4.  When I make a mistake, what most often causes it?  (you might make different
mistakes, but they might be caused by the same stimulus)
5.  What kind of people/personalities do I most often struggle with?

There is no greater sabotage that a leader can cause for herself than being simply “unaware” of weaknesses and flaws.  That doesn’t mean that to be a great leader you must be without flaws and weaknesses.  It simply means you MUST be aware of them and have a plan for tackling them.

My pastor taught me this:

“What you can’t see, you won’t change!  What you won’t change will become a habit!  Your habits will become a lifestyle!”

Every leader must be self-aware!  Are you?

4 thoughts on “Are You A “Self-Aware” Leader?

  1. Great word this morning, Pastor Brian. I pray that I never get to a place where I’m so caught up in me, I miss the big picture. But that’s what a good wife is for. She keeps me in line. 😉

  2. I think I just lost a preschool director for the opposite reason. She was not self aware. And no matter what anyone tried to do it was received as a personal attack. If anyone tried to help her she attacked them. She’s stepping down voluntarily in November. It’s hard to receive now cause in 13 years I have never had a director step down for reasons of burn out or a lack of self awareness creating a difficult situation. I have had them step down cause their husband got a new job or they retired and moved, but this one is different. Other leaders keep telling me this is actually a good thing. Sure doesn’t help though. Cause I thought If I could help her to be more self aware, then things would improve. I inherited her a little over a year ago. Now comes the task of replacing a person who was very good administratively, but because of lack of self awareness, was at times hostile to our volunteer teams.

Leave a Reply

