Question EVERYTHING!

Effective leaders are constantly questioning the status quo.  They don’t settle for “what’s always been done.”  They never say, “That’s the way we’ve always done it.”  They are constantly questioning methods, practices, and strategies to ensure they are taking the best possible approach.

If you are going to be an effective leader, be willing to question EVERYTHING in your ministry – even the things that you think are going wonderfully!  You say, “Wait!  I thought I was supposed to live by the motto ‘If it ain’t broke don’t fix it!’”  Here’s the problem with that.  In ministry, oftentimes something has been broke long before we ever get the memo.  If you don’t have a habit of questioning the methods and strategies in your ministry, you may be so oblivious that something may be broke and you’re convinced it’s never been better.

Last year, I began to truly poke and prod and question the effectiveness of our Sunday Morning Kids experience.  Now, understand, we’ve never had more kids attending than we do now.  We have Kids Pastors from all over the country travel to our church to see and learn what we are doing.  If I went by those indicators alone, I never would have questioned anything we were doing.

But, I began to question and evaluate – and without going into all the details I came to the conclusion that our Sunday Morning Experience was broke.  Everyone else was convinced that it had never been better, but I knew it needed an overhaul.  So, I put together a team of strategists and thinkers to help me redesign everything from the ground up.  Recently, we launched our new approach – and it ROCKED!

If I hadn’t been willing to question, I would never have gotten the ministry to that place.  This experience underscored something for me:  Question EVERYTHING!

Too often, we don’t question or evaluate because we are afraid of what we will find.  We don’t want to face the fact that it might be time for an overhaul.  Don’t allow yourself to do this!  QUESTION EVERYTHING!

2 thoughts on “Question EVERYTHING!

Leave a Reply

