I Can’t Wait! (dealing with impatience)

Our culture breeds impatience.  Most of us have memories of feeling impatient from our earliest years.  You remember how you felt at Christmas, don’t you?  You begged your parents every day to let you open a present days (or even weeks) before Christmas.  You couldn’t wait to find out what was in those pretty packages.

I have to admit that I’m not very patient.  I’m one of those people who stand at the microwave tapping his foot, wondering why the two minutes to cook a burrito is going by so slowly!

I hate to wait in traffic.  I like to move fast.  When I’m driving on the highway, I really move fast.  When one lane starts to slow down, I switch to the one that looks most promising. Then, I switch back.  Airports, doctors’ offices, emergency rooms, and high school graduations—I hate them all.

Too often, we’re impatient in ministry as well.  Impatience leads us to hastily make a leadership decision.  Impatience makes us jump to conclusions in a conflict instead of going to the source.

Impatience makes us hastily “borrow” a ministry idea from another church instead of going through the process of receiving a “God idea.”  God may want us to slow down so we can pursue Him, listen to Him, and have our ideas pruned and shaped.  But all this takes time. Impatience causes many of us to miss out on the “God ideas” that could advance our ministry and inspire our hearts.

What’s the cure for impatience?  Wait.  Wait in His presence.  Wait on His leading.  Wait on His voice.

Practice this today.  When you feel yourself rushing – slow down.  When you feel yourself jumping the gun – wait.  When you feel the stress of ministry beginning to take you over the edge – wait.  Why?  Because “those who wait on the LORD will find new strength. They will fly high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint.”  (Isaiah 40:31)

4 thoughts on “I Can’t Wait! (dealing with impatience)

  1. Great timing… I just taught this lesson in kid’s church yesterday morning from “10 For Life”. Thanks for the reminder that this is for me as much as it is for the kids…

  2. I hate to admit it, but I sometimes get so impatient! I feel like I simply can’t wait another second, particularly if someone is running late or I’m stuck in traffic. Thank you so much for reminding me that impatience isn’t necessarily the best trait—quite the opposite, in fact! I’m going to print out your blog post so that I can remind myself on a daily basis.

Leave a Reply

