The Procrastination Trap

WEEKLY KIDMIN QUESTION:

“I struggle with procrastination.  I’m a spontaneous type of guy.  Do you think that hurts my leadership?” – submitted by David

As I’ve talked to hundreds of people involved in kids’ ministries across the country, I’ve observed that there’s an epidemic of procrastination.  We excuse it in all kinds of ways, but all our reasons lead to the same result.  Yes, you have to be quick, and you never know what a kid is going to say or what kind of crazy thing will happen next.  But many kids’ leaders believe their enthusiastic personalities and the spontaneity of their ministry give them a license to walk in unprepared.  They try to get by, doing the least they can do, and it shows.

I know what this is all about.  I used to fall prey to this procrastination trap for many years.  I wrote about it in my upcoming book, I Blew It! (the biggest mistakes I have made in Kids Ministry and how you can avoid them)”.  In the book, I tell about how the spontaneity bug bit me and caused me to lose credibility.

There’s no excuse for procrastination in preparing for children’s ministry.  God has given us an incredible privilege and responsibility to lead kids on their spiritual journey to becoming life-long followers of Jesus Christ. Someday, we’ll give an account for our motives and actions.  I don’t want to stand before God on that day and tell Him, “I would’ve been more intentional about my ministry to Your children, God, but I had more important things to do.”

Paul wrote to the Corinthians about the day that’s coming: “So we make it our goal to please him, whether we are at home in the body or away from it.  For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, so that each of us may receive what is due us for the things done while in the body, whether good or bad” (2 Corinthians 5:9-10, cf. 1 Corinthians 3:10-15).  There are many good and noble motivations to live for Christ, to pay attention to His purposes, and to devote ourselves wholeheartedly to the work He has called us to do.  We serve kids because we love God with all our hearts and He has given us a love for children.  And we work hard to prepare and serve because someday we’ll give an account of our lives.  On that day, we want to see Him smile and say, “Well done, good and faithful servant.  Come and share your master’s happiness!” (Matthew 25:23)

That’s what I want to hear.  How about you?

8 thoughts on “The Procrastination Trap

  1. The rest of the staff teases me all of the time because they think it’s crazy how I know what is happening with an event, outreach or series for the kids many months in advance. But I do procrastinate in some areas and I find those are the areas I don’t feel I’m very good at or are a constant challenge. This is where I try to recruit and train up people to do those things I’m weak in so I can concentrate on the things only I can do. I may be weak in an area but it could be someone else’s calling. Our kids deserve the best so instead of waiting until the last minute to throw something together or fill a volunteer spot, we should swallow our pride and allow others the help wherever they can. I haven’t always been successful at this but it has helped me be a better steward of God’s time. Great reminder Pastor Brian!

  2. Hey Brian, I agree with the previous post about finding those folks who are gifted and talented in certain areas to help relieve the work load and allow me to do the things that only I can do. I also get down to the nitty gritty of organization and it helps me to keep the procrastination issues under control. I have a daily, weekly and monthly “To Do” list that I constantly keep up with. Calendar planning starts in late October for the year to come. I take a look at the next quarter by the second month of the previous quarter to make sure I am on my game for big events. I take a look at the next month by the 3rd week of the previous month to make sure all publications, announcements, video announcements, meetings, etc have been scheduled. I do the same for a weekly time frame and look at my calendar every day before leaving the church office for the next day. My staff has a scheduled staff meeting each week and we don’t miss unless it is a holiday week. I have been a full time kids pastor for almost ten years now and I have been down that road of procrastination too. It sure puts a bad light on your credibility when you don’t follow through with what you have promised to do.

  3. As I was reading this post, this scripture came to my heart… To whom much is given much is required Luke 12:48. Great Article!

Leave a Reply

