The Homeless Blogger: Kidmin Heritage and Kidmin Soon-to-be

Hello friends.  My name is Kenny Conley and I’m the homeless blogger. What does that mean?  Well, I have a blog over at childrensministryonline.com (BUT DON’T GO THERE). My blog is very sick with a nasty virus. Since she’s sick and slowly getting better, I don’t have a place to post new articles.  I’m at the Kidmin Conference in Chicago and like always, I’ve got something to say… I just don’t have anyplace to say it.  So, thanks to some good friends, they’re giving this homeless blogger a couch to sleep on and letting me finish off the carton of ice cream in the freezer. 

 While at kidmin this week there was a very interesting theme for me.  There was a very cool juxtaposition of past, present and future for kidmin. Here’s what I mean.

I was able to spend a good bit of time with Jim Wideman and he was connecting with several men who he networked with back in the early days in his ministry.  This is a time when there were very few people doing children’s ministry.  He joked about how four of them would get together and that would be a conference.  It was intriguing to hear them recount experiences long gone.  Two things hit me about these conversations.  Kidmin has been blessed and has grown exponentially.  I can see that in the 15 years I’ve been doing it, but the past 30 years has seen a significant transformation.  How incredible it is that we get to minister now.  The other thing is that we know so very little about our heritage.  Those who went before us and laid a foundation poured their lives out for us to be able to do what we do now, and most of us know little to nothing about these great men and women.  I think that needs to change.

The other side of this conversation refers to the future of kidmin.  I had one man (part of kidmin’s long and rich heritage) make several comments about kidmin’s future and how proud he was for the future and how he felt that kidmin was in good hands.  I got to spend a lot of time with the next generation of kidmin and I’m so proud to serve with them.  Even having Brian Haynes and Gina McClain as keynotes for Kidmin was an encouraging look into the future of kidmin.

It was just cool to be at a place where past and future collided.

Thanks Brian Dollar for hosting my post. I hope you don’t mind, I ate the last of your fruity pebbles.  I got the munchies last night.  Look for my next post by following my tweets at twitter.com/kennyconley

See past homeless blogger posts at the following sites:

4 thoughts on “The Homeless Blogger: Kidmin Heritage and Kidmin Soon-to-be

  1. Pingback: Guest Post: The Homeless Blogger @KennyConley: Kidmin for Free | Matt McKee

  2. Pingback: The Homeless Blogger: Things I’d Tell the Old Me | Just Frank Talk

  3. Pingback: Spencer Click » Blog Archiv » Guest Post: The Homeless Blogger: More Things I’d Tell the Old Me

  4. Pingback: The Homeless Blogger: Kidmin Past and Kidmin Future | Childrens Ministry Online

Leave a Reply

